Council Decision

of 31 January 2005

on the conclusion of an Additional Protocol to the Economic Partnership, Political Coordination and Cooperation Agreement between the European Community and its Member States, of the one part, and the United Mexican States, of the other part, to take account of the accession of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia, and the Slovak Republic to the European Union (2005/202/EC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Articles 57(2), 71, 80(2), 133(1), 133(5) and 181 in conjunction with Article 300(2) first subparagraph, first and second sentence, and the first subparagraph of Article 300(3) thereof,

Having regard to the 2003 Act of Accession, and in particular to Article 6(2) [1] thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission,

Having regard to the opinion of the European Parliament,

Whereas:

- (1) The Additional Protocol to the Economic Partnership, Political Coordination and Cooperation Agreement between the European Community and its Member States, of the one part, and the United Mexican States, of the other part, to take account of the accession of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia, and the Slovak Republic to the European Union [2] has been signed on behalf of the European Community and its Member States on 29 April 2004.
- (2) The Additional Protocol should be approved,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

The Additional Protocol to the Economic Partnership, Political Coordination and Cooperation Agreement between the European Community and its Member States, of the one part, and the United Mexican States, of the other part, to take account of the accession of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia, and the Slovak Republic to the European Union, is hereby approved on behalf of the European Community and its Member States.

The text of the Additional Protocol is attached to this Decision.

Article 2

The President of the Council shall give the notification provided for in Article 5 of the Additional Protocol.

Done at Brussels, 31 January 2005.

For the Council

The President

J. Asselborn

[1] OJ L 236, 23.9.2003, p. 34.

[2] See page 24 of this Official Journal.
