https://www.canada.ca/en/global-affairs/news/2018/03/statement-by-minister-champagne-on-signing-of-comprehensive-and-progressive-agreement-for-trans-pacific-partnership.html

## Statement by Minister Champagne on signing of Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership

## March 8, 2018 - Santiago, Chile - Global Affairs Canada

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of International Trade, today issued the following statement following the signature of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP):

"In Santiago today I was honoured to represent Canada at the historic signing of the CPTPP agreement with all 11 member countries. Canada is very proud to be part of this achievement. Canadian workers, producers, farmers, entrepreneurs and businesses of all sizes will benefit from the CPTPP, which will diversify our export markets, strengthen our ties with the Asia-Pacific region and create good jobs at home.

"Canada successfully improved the terms of this deal in the best interests of Canadians. This includes achieving important outcomes on intellectual property, an investor-state dispute settlement mechanism and other provisions of concern to Canadian stakeholders. For the first time, the environment and labour chapters are also enforceable under the agreement's FTA dispute settlement mechanism. In addition, Canada secured side letters on motor vehicles and culture that carry the full force of international law.

"The Government of Canada is committed to negotiating trade deals that benefit Canadians and help grow the middle class. The CPTPP will expand Canada's market access and allow Canadian businesses to seize key opportunities in a burgeoning region."

## **Quick facts**

- The CPTPP will be one of the largest trading blocs in the world, with 11 member countries. CPTPP countries represent 495 million people and have a combined GDP of \$13.5 trillion.
- In 2016, Canada's merchandise trade with the 10 other CPTPP countries amounted to \$105 billion.
- The 11 member countries of the CPTPP are Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam.