Peru-European Free Trade Association (EFTA)
Text of the Agreement
  Background and Negotiations

On 24 April 2006, in Geneva, Switzerland, Peru and the EFTA member states -- Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland -- signed a Declaration on Cooperation. The objectives of the Declaration are to enhance economic relations and to establish a framework for the expansion, diversification and liberalisation of trade and investment. The Declaration establishes a Joint Committee to review cooperation in areas referred to in the Declaration, to discuss areas of mutual interest and to formulate appropriate recommendations on cooperation.

On 04 June 2007, Peru and the EFTA States announced their decision to launch free trade negotiations. The second round of bilateral negotiations culminated on 31 August 2007. Peru and EFTA held the third round of negotiations in Geneva, Switzerland, on 6 November 2007. The fourth round of negotiations took place from 01-06 April 2008 in Bogota, Colombia. On 27 November 2009, Peru announced the conclusion of free trade negotiations with the EFTA States. The agreement  was signed on Reykjavik, Iceland on 24 June 2010 by the EFTA States Free Trade Agreement .  On 14 July , the Minister of Foreign Trade and Tourism of Peru signed the agreement in Lima.

Documents relating to the negotiations
14 July 2010 Peru and EFTA States sign FTA PDF
15 June 2010 Peru and EFTA plan to sign FTA PDF
27 November 2009 Peru and EFTA conclude free trade negotiations  PDF
01-06 April 2008 Bogota , Colombia. Fourth round of negotiations PDF 
28 October - 03 November 2007

Geneva, Switzerland. Third round of negotiations Spanish PDF

27-31 August 2007 Lima, Peru. Second round of negotiations PDF
04 June 2007

Bogota, Colombia. Peru and EFTA States launch free trade negotiationsPDF

24 April 2006 Declaration on Cooperation between the EFTA States and the Republic of Peru PDF
24 April 2006 EFTA and Peru sign Joint Declaration on CooperationPDF
Source:  EFTA Secretariat; Ministerio de Comercio Exterior y Turismo del Perú (MINCENTUR)

  Entry Into Force

The Peru-EFTA FTA entered into force for Peru, Liechtenstein and Switzerland on 01 July 2011.The FTA entered into force on 01 October 2011 and, for Peru and Norway, on 01 July 2012.

Documents relating to the entry into force
01 July 2012 Peru-EFTA FTA enters into force for Peru and Norway Spanish PDF new!
01 July 2011 Peru-EFTA FTA enters into force for Peru, Liechtenstein and Switzerland PDF
Source:  EFTA Secretariat; Noruega el Portal Oficial en Chile
  Related Articles and Studies
September 2006 EFTA Secretariat. Chronology of EFTA's Free Trade Agreements, Declarations of Co-operation and Exploratory TalksPDF
Source:  EFTA Secretariat


Spanish version
Recent Developments
  01 July 2012. Peru-EFTA FTA enters into force for Peru and Norway new!