EFTA, Peru and Ukraine plan to sign free trade agreements in Reykjavik 15-06-2010



The EFTA Council met on 15 June for the fifth time in 2010 under the chairmanship of Iceland. It prepared the Ministerial meeting in Reykjavik in June and discussed relations with countries outside the EU, notably with Russia.

The Council reviewed the arrangements for the upcoming meeting of EFTA Ministers in Reykjavik on 24 June. Two free trade agreements will be signed at this occasion, with Peru and with Ukraine. The EFTA Ministers will also meet the EFTA Parliamentary Committee as well as the EFTA Consultative Committee, representing the EFTA social partners.

Concerning the relations with countries outside the EU, the Council notably discussed the talks held on 26-28 May 2010 in Geneva on the possible implications of the establishment of a customs union between Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan. Representatives from Belarus and Kazakhstan participated in the meetings as observers.

The next Council meeting will take place on 20 July 2010.